energy changed

This clip is from Sokoband (Breezeway Records, 2010). First written by Michael Sokolowski at the age of 19 for the band 4:05, "Energy Change" was inspired by a sort of a Mahavishnu Orchestra approach to ensemble playing. Guitar and analog synthesizer were each performance's centerpiece solos (shout out to 4:05's guitarist Ken Roll if he's reading this). When Soko took it on more than a decade later, it became more jazz inflected -- gone was the electric fusion feel. For the 2010 re-release, the heaviness is back, and in a big way. More rock than jazz, the new version -- now called "Energy Changed," thanks to new guitar melodies -- features the brilliant additional writing and powerhouse electric guitar of Mike Colley and thunderous progressive rock drumming of ex-Genesis drummer, Nir Z. And the analog synth solo makes a comeback.

soko - two

energy changed   Michael Sokolowski: piano, organ, synthesizers
Houston Ross: bass
Michael Colley: electric guitars
Nir Z: drums

Engineered by Michael Sokolowski, Nir Z, and Mike Colley
Mixed by Rob Evans
Mastered by Bob Katz