joy of love, part ii

This clip, Joy of Love, II is from Soko: Two. A compositional collaboration, it's an exchange of ideas between the two composers, Mike Sokolowski and Houston Ross. Mike wrote the chord progression, the B section melody, and string arrangement. Houston added the bass lines, words, vocal melodies, and drum part. Conceived and realized wholly in the studio, this piece sweeps the listener away and back on a tranquil, yet powerful, musical tide, culminating in a deep resonant, slowly decaying chord. (This is the extended, post-vocal instrumental coda, featuring John D'Earth's trumpet.)

soko - two

joy of love, ii   Michael Sokolowski: piano, synthesizers
Houston Ross: bass, vocals
Will Coles: drums
Tim Reynolds, guitar
John D'Earth, trumpet
Peter Spaar, acoustic bass
Chris Melchoir, violins, viola
Peter Markush, cello

Engineered by Patrick Derivaz, Chris Kress, Michael Sokolowski and Rob Evans
Mixed by Rob Evans
Mastered by Bob Katz